David Lynch: Legacy

Since studying media from the age of 15 I’ve always been drawn to the stranger sides of films, television and music. There’s something a lot more captivating when a piece of media is out of the ordinary and David Lynch is anything but ordinary.

https://embed.theguardian.com/embed/video/film/video/2016/sep/01/david-lynch-the-art-life-exclusive-trailer-for-the-venice-documentary

Above is the trailer for Jon Nguyen’s new documentary that premiered at the Venice Film Festival 2016.  “Described as  ‘private memoir’ which illuminates Lynch’s movies by looking back over his life.”

David Lynch grew up in the precise small town’s in America as his films are commonly set it. In rough, run down communities he attended Art School where the “almost unreleasable weird” Eraserhead (1977) was born and Lynch would unknowingly spend the next 5 years working on it. With this movement he secured a cult following which allowed him to release Eraserhead (1977).

“To me, a story can be both concrete and abstract, or a concrete story can hold abstractions. And abstractions are things that really can’t be said so well with words.” -David Lynch

It’s been told that Lynch doesn’t like to reveal the meanings to his work; whether that’s photography, painting or cinema. “It makes me uncomfortable to talk about meanings and things. It’s better not to know so much about what things mean. Because the meaning, it’s a very personal thing, and the meaning for me is different than the meaning for somebody else.”  To me David Lynch is a true auteur, a storyteller, his visions are those that attract the minds of the unusual but they need their stories told too. His work manages to speak to people and inspire new waves of artwork and stories to be told. Such as the event that was held at Chicago’s historic Music Box Theatre where Consequence of Sound held a celebration of David Lynch and all inspired pieces.

With my experience of David Lynch and his work I remember when I first came across his film Eraserhead (1977) and instantly didn’t like it. It scared me, made me feel uncomfortable and not myself. I re-watched that film a couple months a go and my entire outlook on the film has changed. It amazes me how one mans work can make someone, anyone, feel such contrasting feelings – obviously my age came into play but I honestly believe that that first encounter which terrified me planted a small seed in my mind that would result in me wanted to continue the journey into the storytellers of controversy and weirdness. Thus sparked my encounter with Blue Velvet (1989) which became a cult classic and one of his most personal works since his debut. Achieving an even larger cult following with his surreal TV show Twin Peaks (1990) which is personally my favourite.

Lynch has always had a unique way of looking at the world since growing up in the small-town American suburbs. In 1973 Lynch began his journey with Transcendental Meditation which has helped not only him but adults and children worldwide with the David Lynch Foundation. His way of looking at the world is flipped on it’s head. “They are explorations of nature’s dark side that twist everyday sights and sounds – suburban picket fences and shimmering 1950s and 60s pop tunes – into disorientating terrains teeming with sudden, visceral violence, sexual menace, sneaky, off-kilter humour and thrumming, disquieting soundtracks.” There has been a term coined known as the “Lynchian” way of looking at things. Which simply means embodying an unmistakeable audio-visual style .

At his best, David Lynch is a visionary artist “one also active in painting, sculpture and music – tapping into cinema’s potential to linger with, and within, you long after the screen fades to black.”

Looking through Lynch’s filmography and story so far it has really re-awakened my mind and how my creativity will flow. Limitless and strange I want to look at cinema and my own work from a “Lynchian” perspective.

References

Blackard, Cap. “Get Suave! Take Home Some David Lynch-Inspired Artwork”. Consequence of Sound. N.p., 2015. Web. 3 Oct. 2016.

“David Lynch”. IMDb. N.p., 2016. Web. 3 Oct. 2016.

“David Lynch: The Art Life – Exclusive Trailer For The Venice Documentary”. the Guardian. N.p., 2016. Web. 3 Oct. 2016.

“Message From David Lynch”. Davidlynchfoundation.org. N.p., 2016. Web. 3 Oct. 2016.

“Where To Begin With David Lynch”. British Film Institute. N.p., 2016. Web. 3 Oct. 2016.

Leave a Reply

