R&D FMP CW2 // Style Inspo // For Submission

I’ve spent endless hours on social media and finding inspiration for my fmp. With what I want to achieve I feel like the aesthetic is crucial to getting across the right message. Many weeks a go I came across StyleLikeU’s videos on YouTube entitled “What’s Underneath” a series of interviews ranging from 15-30 minutes of a variety of women all different ages, shapes and skin tones expressing their emotions and journey with self-acceptance and body image within today’s society.

A mother and daughter duo, StyleLikeU started a kickstarter campaign in November 2014 for their documentary “What’s Underneath” coming out in Spring 2017 – following the same clips as their YouTube channel but in full documentary form.

Below is one of my favourite interviews from this series that helped inspire the look I’d like my documentary clips to show:

As  you can see from the clip above, the interviews are very real, hardly stylised at all and in a “homely” location. I love the brick wall backdrop and the fact there is only a stool and a rug in shot – this brings the focus onto the subject in question and all our attention as viewers are on them. The way this is shot with a two-camera set up is also something I want for my interviews, not only does it speed up filming but it enables me to capture those truly unique and emotional moments of the participant. There’s no way you can ask someone who has willingly spilled out an touching story to then repeat themselves twice just for a different angle. This is why the two-camera set up is ideal one focusing on the close ups, the details and the other on a static long shot.

What I also love about StyleLikeU’s videos is the clean cut, minimalism nothing is too fancy or too false everything is real.

Another spot of inspiration for me was a Netflix documentary, also a Sundance Film Official Selection, called “Miss Representation” (2011) by director Jennifer Siebel Newsom. I found this documentary to be again, quite raw visually, there was a lot of archive footage to support and back up the way media industries categorise women into certain stigmas, ultimately holding us back from any sort of leadership or important roles in life. What I liked about this was how clean and clinical the interviews were held. Some may see this as too clinical but I appreciate the sharp and bright backdrop of just white to bring full attention to the participants.

As for the website design I came across an interactive website called blacknegative.com

screen-shot-2017-01-19-at-18-11-16screen-shot-2017-01-19-at-18-11-48BlackNegative is a beautiful website, that flows elegantly and displays it’s images and content in a wonderfully modern way – I took inspiration from this when thinking about how I want my website to look – ultimately though I want my website to be a bit more rough, raw and rebellious some what like the Sex Pistols own album design or another interactive website Pine Point.screen-shot-2017-01-19-at-18-12-57screen-shot-2017-01-19-at-18-13-27screen-shot-2017-01-19-at-18-13-48

I absolutely adore this interactive website design, there’s something about the scrap book element that really draws you in as an audience and makes you feel apart of the journey through Pine Point. I want to apply some of this to my own website with video footage and quotes and personal images to really tell each persons story.

References

“About Us – Stylelikeu.”. StyleLikeU. N.p., 2017. Web. 9 Jan. 2017.

“Blacknegative”. Blacknegative.com. N.p., 2017. Web. 9 Jan. 2017.

“Miss Representation – The Representation Project”. The Representation Project. N.p., 2017. Web. 9 Jan. 2017.

“NFB – Welcome To Pine Point”. Pinepoint.nfb.ca. N.p., 2017. Web. 9 Jan. 2017.

 

 

Leave a Reply

