#364MC // Professional Portfolio // Work Experience // The Session – ‘When She Smiles’ LIVE at The Empire

A friend of mine got in touch and asked if I fancied helping out filming a local gig at a club called The Empire. Of course I jumped at the chance and agreed. Once again, filming a live gig is something that was very new to me. The band are called The Session and once inside I was playing around with the settings to try get the correct lighting for an indoor gig where the natural lighting is so minimal.

However, I ended up just letting the camera do it’s work and put it on auto which I feel like is the worst thing for a budding cinematographer to do. In all honesty I found it daunting to try set up the camera in a more professional way and with the time to prepare quite short I felt it was the only option.

The footage above came out fairly decent but I’d definitely go back and re-shoot with more knowledge behind me on how to shoot an indoor gig professionally.

Leave a Reply

